Inside Leads Nominees for 17th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards

Organizers have revealed the nominees for the 17th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards. Tim Schafer, founder of Double Fine Productions, will return as host of the awards show for his sixth time.

Winners in all fourteen categories, including the new Best VR/AR Game category, will be honored at the Game Developers Choice Awards ceremony, taking place on Wednesday, March 1st at 6:30pm at the San Francisco Moscone Center during the 2017 Game Developers Conference in conjunction with the Independent Games Festival Awards. The ceremonies are available to attend for all GDC 2017 pass-holders and will be livestreamed on the GDC’s official Twitch channel at

Leading the pack with six nominations is Inside, a 2D puzzle-platformer adventure developed and published by Playdead, an independent developer based in Denmark. Inside is Playdead’s follow-up to its critically acclaimed debut, Limbo which received top accolades from the IGF in 2010 and again at the Choice Awards in 2011. Inside is a finalist for Best Audio, Best Design, the Innovation Award, Best Narrative, Best Visual Art and Game of the Year.

Also making an impressive showing with five nods each are Blizzard Entertainment’s team-based multiplayer first-person shooter Overwatch and Campo Santo’s debut title Firewatch, a first-person mystery adventure. Blizzard was nominated for Best Audio, Best Design, Best Technology, Best Visual Art and Game of the Year for Overwatch, while Campo Santo received nods for Best Debut, the Innovation Award, Best Narrative, Best Visual Art and Game of the Year for Firewatch.

The field for Game of the Year is rounded out by Naughty Dog/Sony Interactive Entertainment’s Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End, which also picked up nominations in Best Technology, Best Narrative and Best Visual Art, and Arkane Studios/Bethesda Softworks’ Dishonored 2, also a nominee for Best Design.

For the full list of the Game Developers Choice Award nominations and honorable mentions, visit the official website:

Comments are closed.